Live Fire Structure Committee Friday, December 13, 2019 Virginia Department of Fire Programs Headquarters 9:00am

A regular meeting of the Live Fire Structure Committee was held at the Virginia Department of Fire Programs in Glen Allen, VA at 9:00 am on Friday December 13, 2019. Committee Chair, Lee Day facilitated this meeting. The committee had a constituted Quorum.

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**

Lee Day James Calvert James Stokely Stephanie L. Koren David Hankley Bettie Reeves-Nobles

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**

Keith Johnson Jerome Williams Dennis Linaburg

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT**

Rick Gregory

#### **GUESTS PRESENT**

Jason Irby Carl Roberts Jay Cullivan Larry Gwaltney Jeff Liebold Cyndi Tole Michael A. Matthews

#### AGENCY MEMBERS PRESENT

Travis Rickman Brook Pittinger
Mike Reilly Brenda Scaife
Theresa Hunter John Fugman
Bill MacKay Briant Atkins

Live Fire Structure Committee Friday, December 13, 2019 Virginia Department of Fire Programs Headquarters 9:00am

## **CHANGES IN THE AGENDA**

N/A

## **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments made.

#### COMMENTS FROM THE COMMITTEE CHAIR

N/A

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

N/A

## **NEW BUSINESS**

Topic: The Structure Group presentation on the conversion of a Live Fire Structure from Class B Fires to Class A

Motion: N/A

**Topic Discussion**: Questions were asked of the presenter by different board members concerning the cost of conversion and certain requirements that would result from changes in regulation.

Vote: N/A

**Motion Action:** N/A

**Topic:** Virginia Fire Incident Reporting System Grant Awards approval for Fire Departments Recommended for VFIRS Hardware Grant, FY2020:

# Live Fire Structure Committee Friday, December 13, 2019 Virginia Department of Fire Programs Headquarters 9:00am

Glade Spring Fire Department: \$700 Troutville Fire Department: \$700

City of Poquoson Fire/Rescue: \$700 Accomack 00108 Tasley Volunteer Fire Co.: \$700

Boydton Volunteer Fire Department: \$700 Halifax 8703 Oak Level VFD: \$700

Sussex 18302 Stoney Creek: \$700 Halifax 8311 Virgilina VFD: \$700

Sussex 18305 Sussex Courthouse: \$700 Halifax 8309 Triangle VFD: \$700

Sussex 18303 Wakefield: \$700 Halifax 8302 Cluster Springs VFD: \$700

Sussex 18304 Waverly: \$700 Halifax 8305 Midway VFD: \$700

Sussex 18301 Jarrat: \$700 Halifax 8310 Turbeville VFD: \$700

Shenandoah Volunteer Fire Company: \$700 Harrisonburg Fire Department: \$700

## In the total amount of: \$12,600.00

**Motion:** To approve VFIRS Grant award to the attached Recommendation for Fire Departments in a total of \$12,600 and send it to the full board for approval. Motion made by Lee Day and seconded

**Topic Discussion**: It was confirmed that there were sufficient funds to disperse these grants.

**Vote:** Unanimous

**Motion Action:** Present it to the full board meeting on Friday, December 13th, 2019.

Live Fire Structure Committee Friday, December 13, 2019 Virginia Department of Fire Programs Headquarters 9:00am

## **Topic: Spotsylvania Conversion Request**

**Motion:** To Approve Spotsylvania conversion request and send it to the full board for final approval. Motion was made by Bettie Reeves-Nobles and seconded

**Topic Discussion**: N/A

**Vote:** Approved with one abstention. Jim Stokely Abstained from that vote

**Motion Action:** Present it to the full board meeting on Friday, December 13th, 2019.

## **Topic: Fluvanna Project Extension**

**Motion:** To approve the no cost Fluvanna project extension and send it to the full board for final approval. Motion made by James Stokely and seconded.

**Topic Discussion:** Question was asked to Fluvanna representative by member Lee Day to see what the current status of the conversion was as of today.

Vote: Unanimous

**Motion Action:** Present it to the full board meeting on Friday, December 13th, 2019.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion was made to adjourn by Bettie Reeves-Nobles and seconded committee adjourned at 9:30am

Live Fire Structure Committee Friday, December 13, 2019 Virginia Department of Fire Programs Headquarters 9:00am

Clerk of the Committee: Travis Rickman

## **REVIEWED BY:**

Brook Pittinger Deputy Executive Director