VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD

Fire Prevention & Control Committee Thursday, February, 24, 2022 Virginia Beach Convention Center Meeting Rooms 5ABC 10:00am

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

A regular meeting of the Fire Prevention & Control Committee was held at the Virginia Beach Convention Center in Virginia Beach, VA. Mr. Ernest Little served as Chair.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & MOMENT OF SILENCE

3. ROLL CALL

Committee Members Present:

Ernest Little, (FP&C Committee Chair) – Virginia Fire Prevention Association (VFPA)
Keith Johnson, Vice Chair (AP&F Committee Chair) – Virginia Fire Chiefs Association (VFCA)
Dennis Linaberg – VA Chapter International Association of Arson Investigators (IAAI)
Claudia Cotton – Board of Housing & Community Development (BHCD)
Steve Sites – Virginia Municipal League (VML)

R. Scott Garber, Chair - Local Fire Marshal

Committee Members Absent:

Rob Ferrell - Virginia State Forester

Non-Committee Board Members Present:

Jerome Williams, (T&E Committee Chair) – Certified Fire Service Instructor Bettie Reeves-Nobles, (LFTS Committee Chair) – General Public Lee Day – Virginia Fire Services Council (VFSC)
James Poindexter – Virginia Professional Firefighters Association (VPFF)
Abbey Johnston – Virginia State Firefighters Association (VSFA)

4. GUESTS PRESENT

Agency Members Present: Brook Pittinger Garret Dyer Amanda Kennedy

5. CHANGES IN THE AGENDA

N/A

6. Public Comments

There were no public comments made

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD

Fire Prevention & Control Committee
Thursday, February, 24, 2022
Virginia Beach Convention Center
Meeting Rooms 5ABC
10:00am

7. CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting - NA

8. REPORT FROM THE VIRGINIA STATE FIRE MARSHAL

Dyer commented on two fire fatalities for 2022. This is based on Confirmation by the locality. Traction has been made on FAST Lab trailer. Permissible firework scheduling will. Online vendor for Pyrotechnics test has been acquired.

9. CODES & STANDARDS SUBCOMMITTEE UPDATES

A. Motion to Approve Vice Chair – Perry Weller

Motion: To Approve Perry Weller as the Vice Chair of the Codes & Standards

Subcommittee

Topic Discussion: N/A

Vote: Unanimous

Action: Motion Approved & Carries

B. Motion to Approve two new committee members – Lee Stoermer & Joseph Mullens

Motion: To approve Lee Stoermer & Joseph Mullens as members of the Code Subcommittee.

Topic Discussion:

Lee Stoermer Assistant Fire Marshal Loudoun County Fire and Rescue Office of the Fire Marshal Nominated by Keith Johnson

Joseph A. Mullens Division Chief/Deputy Fire Marshal Rockingham County Department of Fire and Rescue Nominated by Perry Weller

Two additional seats available.

Vote: Unanimous

Action: Motion Approved & Carries

C. Motion to Approve updates – 2021 SFPC Code Document

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD

Fire Prevention & Control Committee Thursday, February, 24, 2022 Virginia Beach Convention Center Meeting Rooms 5ABC 10:00am

Motion: Motion to approve amendments to cod

Topic Discussion: Chair will supply all committee members with the amendments.

Information is change is language an

Vote: one abstain

Action: Motion Approved & Carries

10. COMMENTS FROM THE COMMITTEE CHAIR

There has been no movement on the current agreement on the state. The proposal has been presented to the DHCD.

11. Unfinished Business

A. BHCD/VFSB Memorandum of Agreement Update

12. NEW BUSINESS

A. Fire Prevention & Control Document – Work Session Date

Topic Discussion: Committee was given possible dates for work session. The Chair made the recommendation to combine it with the complete Fire Services Board meeting in April in Loudon VA. Chief Pittinger will send the current documents to support preplanning and preparation.

B. Legislative Subcommittee Updates-

Topic Discussed: Members Johnson and Chair discussed the information Fire prevention bill on agritourism. This bill currently in legislation seeks create definition on structures that serve as event venues and the unique challenges they present for fire prevention.

13. ADJOURNMENT - The Board adjourned at 10:28

Clerk of the Committee: Amanda Kennedy